Top Menu

Recognising the people who really matter

BSCAA NSW Award winners 2011

Young Manager of the Year nominees. At rear from left, Daniel Diaz, John Prasad (accepting on behalf of Lief Gould), Dwayne Smith and John Katsik . At front from left, Abdullah Al Manun, Jennifer Gitzel and Jasmin Halilovic


“Today is a celebration of what you do,” stated Building Service Contractors of Australia national president Terry Corby. He was effusive in his praise and respect for those at our industry’s ‘coal face’, the cleaners, when addressing the 2011 AustralianSuper BSCAA NSW Excellence Awards’ luncheon held mid-October.

“Today is about the people who really matter, the cleaners and the security guards,” he emphasised.

Held at Sydney’s Curzon Hall, the Awards’ event saw a strong industry representation comprising suppliers, BSCAA members, other industry association executives and, of course, cleaners.

BSCAA NSW Excellence Awards 2011

Company of the Year Award went to Guardian Health Support Services. It was presented to Guardian’s Peter Warren (right) by Agar’s Steve Agar

In a positive gesture, the BSCAA NSW opened the Awards to all employers and their cleaners, whether BSCAA member or not.

Corby also recognised the important contribution made by sponsoring suppliers in ensuring a successful event. Again, AustralianSuper was the major sponsor, complemented by Agar, which sponsored the Company of the Year Award, and Hako Australia, which sponsored the Young Manager of the year Award.

Other sponsors included Tennant, Diversey, Cleaners Warehouse, CRM Brokers, Lennox Institute, Clearchoice, INCLEAN, Karcher, PowerSweep, RapidClean and AEC.

Company of the Year Award nominees:
Guardian Health Support Services, Gen 2, OCS, Quad Services, SJK Security Consultants, Strike Force Services, and TH Building Maintenance.
The winner: Guardian Health Support Services

Young Manager of the Year nominees:
Md Abdullah Al Manun (Glad Group), Daniel Diaz (Perpetual Property Care), Jennifer Gitzel (Strike Force Services), Lief Gould (Glad Group), Jasmin Halilovic (Spotless), Ram Sharan Itani (TH Building Maintenance), John Katsik (Spotless), Gabriela Santucci (Essential Hygiene Services), Jason Schutz (Spotless), Matthew Smeeks (Spotless), and Dwayne Smith (Assetlink Services).
The winner: Daniel Diaz

BSCAA NSW Excellence Awards 2011

Young Manager of the Year Daniel Diaz was presented with his Award by Hako’s Frank Cupido (left). Diaz wins a trip to the WFBSC 2012 Congress, Curitiba, Brazil

Certificates were awarded to 15 finalists in the categories of Excellence in the Maintenance of Commercial, Educational, Retail sites and Excellence in Security of a Commercial site. The winners were Geoffrey Sharman (OCS), Vivian Condori (OCS), Keith Durrant (Assetlink Services) and Ahmad Hamka (Glad Group)

In the various categories for Supervisors in both Cleaning and Security Sectors, 22 finalists were awarded certificates and  trophies were awarded for Outstanding Achievement to Neramit Aiummeechai (Solutions Property Service), Cheryl Dooley (Quad Services), Lisa Cooper ( Strike Force Services), Sam Awraham (Guardian Health Support Services), Ian Lumsden (Assetlink Services), and Rahman Mizanur and John Prasad both from Glad Group. Daphne Cornish (Quad Services) was Highly Commended for her services.


For all images, go to


BSCAA NSW Award winners 2011

Recognised for Excellence, from left, John Prasad, Keith Durrant, Geoffrey Sharman and Vivian Condori

Like this article? Subscribe to INCLEAN's digital newsletter e:clean to receive the latest industry news delivered straight to your inbox every two weeks.